Sunday, March 21, 2010

UFC MMA is my new favorite thing

Until very recently I could not have watched boxing or fighting of any kind. Too violent. Several months ago I took up kickboxing at the gym. My trainer is an experienced MMA fighter who really works up sweat during out session.

We spar, not really fight but work out. I have learned all sorts of combinations and techniques and continue to want to learn more. It keeps working out interesting and makes me THINK unlike just throwing weights around or endless hours on the stair master. I do 5-7 minute rounds, at least 5 sets and have been told I have a natural talent. There is nothing more priceless than seeing a 22 year old ripped kid curled in a ball after I have landed an incredible combo and tricked him with my footwork and get in a solid kick the body. PRICELESS!

Tonight I watched my first UFC event on cable and I am blown away. Sure it it brutal. Sure the men are gorillas and maybe as dumb as rocks. But there is something magical and stunning watching them perform this hand to hand combat like warriors from ancient times except they are wearing branded sports gear.

The crawling and rolling on the mats I can do without out, however. I think that is why wrestling is so disturbing to me. So is the bravado..the faces of fierce killers that they employ as they prepare for their bouts. The angry mugs projecting their rage and fury to the audience and their opponents.

One day I will get into the ring and test my mettle...seriously throw down. Stay tuned!

No comments:

Post a Comment